Show Time + Cinnamon Apple Almond Overnight Oats

This weekend I attended the Randfontein Show – a 4 day music and food festival and one of Gauteng’s biggest and most popular shows of the year. Despite the rainy weather I had a fantastic time and even came back with some vegan-friendly treats, including insanely addictive warm caramel coated cashews and Macadamia nut jam (bonus!). The jam is made using a combination of finely chopped Macadamias, vanilla seeds, and cane sugar (not so good) and has a sweet and rich taste. Not recommended for everyday consumption of course, but definitely a great treat to spread on vegan  pancakes or waffles every now and again!

20130302_143343

The highlight of the show was definitely the carnival rides – not just because of the rides themselves, but because of the festive atmosphere all the lights, music and excited people created. We managed to go on one ride – the break dancer – and believe me, after nearly breaking my neck due to being whipped around so much I can attest that it certainly lived up to its name! I got a shot of the big wheel – a classic at any carnival:

Pretty lights!

Pretty lights!

We got back home quite late, and when I woke up (early) the next morning I really needed a breakfast that would energise me – thus my Cinnamon Apple Almond overnight oats creation was born!

CINNAMON APPLE ALMOND OVERNIGHT OATS

20130302_103341

I never used to like oats – when I thought of them I always got a picture of a steaming bowl of dull, watery goop drenched in milk, butter and sugar – the traditional way of serving the dish in most South African households. I was always left feeling nauseous, and even after becoming more health conscious and switching to plain cooked oats (often instant) with just a dash of milk and some peanut butter, the concept of oats still never appealed to me. Then  I was introduced to overnight oats!

If you aren’t a fan of the traditional way oats are prepped, don’t be scared to give this recipe a try. I assure you it tastes 100 times better!

This breakfast is perfect for those mornings when you are short of time, because all the prep work can be done the evening before. Even if you make it the same morning and leave it to set for two hours (as I did) it still comes out great!

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 – 1 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • 1 medium ripe banana (the riper the better – but not black!)
  • 2 tbsp seedless raisins
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 10-12 almonds
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla essence or vanilla extract (optional)
  • 1 apple of your choice (I used a royal gala apple – but green would be fantastic!)

20130302_103335

Method:

  1. Mix the dry ingredients (almonds, raisins, oats, cinnamon) together in a breakfast bowl
  2. Add the soy milk and vanilla if using it and stir well
  3. Break the banana into pieces and, using a fork, mash it into the oats mixture until soft and well incorporated
  4. Place the bowl in the fridge overnight
  5. In the morning, top with sliced apple, more soy milk if a thinner consistency is desired and an extra sprinkle of cinnamon.

Quick and easy – and the best part – the cinnamon, apple, banana and raisins all contribute to boosting your energy, without the negative side effects of consuming refined sugars!

After smoothies, this is definitely one of my favourite breakfast meals. What is your favourite type of breakfast?

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

