Vegan “Ferrero Rocher” Celebration Mousse

No, your eyes are not playing tricks on you – the words “Ferrero Rocher” and “Mousse” did in fact just appear in the same sentence, in a vegan blog. How can this be you ask? Well, because this recipe is going to blow your mind! Dairy free, 100% vegan creamy chocolate hazelnut mousse that will see you abandoning your love for processed, unhealthy Ferrero Rochers and Nutella in a heartbeat (and I do say this with some confidence, since Ferrero Rochers used to be my all time favourite chocolates).

The inspiration for this recipe came about as a result of:

1) me desiring to celebrate a mammoth event in my life, namely passing my driver’s license this Friday,

2) an unused store of hazelnuts that were about to exceed their expiration date and

3) an intense craving for anything Nutella-like sparked by the lovely people from The Style Trunk.

Substituting avocado (yes – it works wonders!) , dates and soy milk for traditional mousse ingredients such as cream and butter, combined with a generous helping of homemade hazelnut butter and cocoa, this lovely mousse creation has a thick, silky texture and rich, nutty and oh-so-chocolatey flavour. Go ahead and give it a try – I assure you it cannot disappoint!

“Ferrero Rocher” Celebration Mousse

20130316_210227

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 1 large ripe avocado
  • 25-30 small dried dates, soaked for 3 or more hours
  • 10 drops of stevia liquid (optional)
  • 1 tbsp honey (optional – use less dates if using honey)
  • 5 tbsp cocoa powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • Dark chocolate pieces (optional)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened soy milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Method:

Hazelnut butter

The first and longest part of the process is preparing the hazelnuts. Yet do not despair – once this is done the rest of the prep is a breeze!

1. Roast the hazelnuts in an oven on 180°C for 15 minutes – turning frequently so as not to burn them

2. Hazelnuts are ready when the skins turn a dark shade of brown and start peeling away from the nut

3. Remove nuts from oven and allow to cool for 10 minutes

4, Remove the skins from the hazelnuts (be careful when doing so, because when I did this using my bare hands I ended up with roasted fingertips, never mind roasted hazelnuts!). I have seen suggestions such as using a dishcloth to rub the skins off. Alternatively, you can purchase skinned hazelnuts.

5. Using a hand blender or food processor, blend the nuts until smooth. Add 4 drops of stevia and a pinch of salt. This is your hazelnut butter.

Creamy hazelnut butter

Creamy hazelnut butter

This is the texture you want

This is the texture you want

Chocolate mousse

1) Peel and pit the avocado

2) In a large bowl, combine the avo, soymilk, cocoa, soaked dates (without the soaking water), vanilla essence and hazelnut butter together. You can also add 4-6 drops of stevia if desired, or alternatively use 1 tbsp of honey for extra sweetness if you include it in your diet.

3) Using a hand blender, blend all the ingredients together until completely smooth.

4) Do a taste test and adjust cocoa and sweetness levels to your taste. However, not that the flavours develop and intensify as the mousse sits in the fridge.

5) If desired, add in small pieces of the dark chocolate.

6) Chill in the fridge for at least two hours before serving. Overnight is even better.

IMG-20130316-WA0001

Enjoy with a sprinkling of unsweetened coconut. This would also make a great pancake filling, spread for toast or waffles, or even a nice topping for sliced banana.

8 responses to “Vegan “Ferrero Rocher” Celebration Mousse

  1. This looks and sounds delicious. Would you be able to give me a measurement in cups on the dates?

  2. A rough estimate would be about 3/4 cup of dates. I did not measure them out in a cup so I am not 100% sure. My advice would be to pre-soak more than you think you will need, then add half, do a taste test and then adjust the sweetness by adding more if needed 🙂

  3. Pingback: Hot Cross Bun Flapjacks + Poetry Month | VeeDine Intervention·

  4. What a wonderful dessert (and great photos that you took yourself – I’m jealous!!). I honestly don’t think I’ve ever tasted hazelnuts, but there are few nuts I don’t like. This looks delish!! Celeste:)

    • Thank you Celeste! 🙂
      I hardly consider myself a pro photographer though – I also struggle with the same feelings of photography inadequacy as you most of the time, especially when I browse all the professional vegan blogs like Oh She Glows and Healthy.Happy.Life. If you have never tasted hazelnuts I would highly recommend that you get your hands on some if possible – they really do have a unique and rich flavour, especially when roasted. They are used in a lot of sweets though – such as Nutella spread and Ferroro Rochers (sadly not vegan options). They are even nice just to snack on straight from the packet 😉

      • Trust me girl – your photos are beautiful!! And I guess I have tasted hazelnuts because I’ve had Nutella. I forgot about that!! I think that’s my only experience with hazelnuts, but Nutella is delicious so I bet I’d love hazelnuts. Celeste:)

Leave a Reply

