Learning to let go…Fig ‘Jam’ and ‘Butter’ Sandwiches

20130323_133508

It is fig season! This is a cause for celebration, because I absolutely adore these tasty and nutritious fruits. Usually I have to settle for the dried version (which is still delicious, but truly, how can one compare fresh and dried?), so when I walked into Woolworths this week and saw these beauties staring at me I just had to grab some.

20130323_133603

Now, between university classes and catching up on assignments at home, I did not have time to experiment and come up with a mind-blowing fig-inspired recipe. No, rather I ended up munching them in their whole state, and chucking them into smoothies occasionally. Having said this, today’s recipe is more of a tip or idea than something one would consider ‘cookbook worthy’, but trust me, the simplicity of it is beautiful. My creation: Fresh fig ‘jam’ and ‘butter’ sandwiches.

Why you may ask? Well, firstly, I really like fig jam, but not the refined sugar content of it, and secondly, growing up butter was a staple in our house, so sometimes I like to experiment and see if I can find anything else that can moisten my sandwiches as effectively. I think I might just have found the solution. Yes, it involves avocado of course!

FIG ‘JAM’ AND ‘BUTTER’ SANDWICHES

20130323_132702

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of wholewheat bread (or rye – any bread you prefer really)
  • 1 large ripe fig cut into slices
  • about 2 tbsp of avocado (just enough to spread generously on each slice of bread)
  • coarse sea salt
  • cinnamon (for sprinkling)

Method:

  1. Spread the avocado on each slice of bread. Grind some coarse sea salt into the avo and spread in well. (This creates your ‘butter’ base – mimicking the salty and creamy taste of real butter).
  2. Slice the fig into thin slices, and spread onto the bread. You can mash it first too if you desire a more jam-like consistency.
  3. sprinkle some cinnamon on top and serve.

(Do not be fooled by the strange looking pictures –  I admit that I am no expert at photography and mashed food on sandwiches is particularly difficult to capture in an appetising way)

I also tried another version using peanut butter instead of avocado, and this was just as delicious:

20130324_142723

So there you have it. A simple, nutritious meal. Did you know – figs contain calcium, iron, potassium, fibre and manganese, and they are also low in sugar compared to other fruits. For a nutritional breakdown click here.  So really there is no excuse not to indulge in a few.

Sometimes we just have to let go a bit – stop over-complicating our lives and diets and just try out new versions of old favourites. After all, who has time in this day and age to whip up a gourmet meal for lunch every day?

2 responses to “Learning to let go…Fig ‘Jam’ and ‘Butter’ Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

