Birthday Parties and Take-Out + NaPoWriMo Day 5

It is Friday night, and I have a reason to celebrate! It is one of my good friends’ birthday parties tonight – and we are going to sokkie! Now for those unfamiliar with the term ‘sokkie’, it is basically the Afrikaans word for a type of dancing that involves shuffling across the dance floor to fast-paced Afrikaans songs with a partner. Basically the male leads, and the quality of your experience largely depends on his dancing capabilities (no pressure boys). Oh, and someone just kindly informed me that it can be likened to American line dancing (if that helps the explanation at all).

So, being relatively new to this South African cultural phenomenon, am expecting to have my fair share of toe-stepping and bumping into other unsuspecting folks tonight, but I won’t let that deter me!

I am away from home, so dinner tonight is take-out! I am so pleased that the town we are visiting has a Simply Asia (I adore Thai food – and it is so easy to veganise). So on the menu tonight: number 408, mild. The fancy unpronounceable name: Mah-Khuer Tao-Jeow.

Basically it consists of Tofu and brinjals stir-fried in sauce with lots of veggies (peppers, mushrooms, basil, chili, green beans) and topped with black bean sauce.

My mouth is watering just thinking about it (waiting patiently anxiously for the take-out to be delivered whilst writing this post). Hope it is good!

Now, on to the poetry.

NaPoWriMo Day 5

Today we were instructed to write a cinquain. Basically it is a 5 line poem with each line consisting of a different number of syllables (the rules and structure are explained here)

So I decided to try out two poems, just for fun (they are short enough to do more than one, so why not?)

New Life

In you

my world is new

and just one heartfelt look

at the nature of your promise

transforms.

(In anticipation of tonight’s activities):

Fun

It’s time

to lift these feet

and let my spirit soar;

follow the rhythm of the beat

tonight.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your friday!

Leave a Reply

