Liebster Award Nomination + NaPoWriMo Day 6

Liebster Award 2

I have been nominated for the Liebster blogging Award! 

Basically, this is an award that aims to create awareness of new bloggers and give them some recognition. It works in the following way:

1. Any blogger with less than 200 followers can be nominated for the award.

2. Once nominated, the blogger has to:

a) list 11 facts about themselves;

b) answer 11 questions provided by the blogger who nominated them;

c) nominate 11 other bloggers (excluding those already nominated by the blogger who nominated them) and;

d) draft 11 new questions to ask the 11 nominees whom they choose.

Simple, right?

I was graciously nominated by The Pursuit of Pie. Thank you!

So let us plunge right in shall we? Here are 11 random facts about myself:

1. I own a copious amount of Archie comics which I never read.
2. I love the smell of freshly printed paper, whether in novels, magazines, or text books (yes – they each have a unique ‘feel good’ smell).
3. I cannot study or concentrate on serious conversations when music is playing in the background.
4. I am bilingual.
5. I’m squeamish when it comes to talking about veins and blood – it literally makes me feel weak (seeing it is fine though, just the conversation affects me).
6. I prefer writing my ‘serious creative things’ in pencil.
7. Dr. Seuss books will never get old – favourite children’s author for sure.
8. Theater and Drama is something I adore – acting is such fun!
9. My hair has a natural wave, no matter how I try to straighten it.
10. I cried when I was told I needed to start wearing glasses (now I don’t mind – I love the funky frame options).

and here are my answers to the 11 questions we were asked to answer:

1. What would be your last meal?

Vegan or anything? If vegan, a gourmet vegan pizza, peanut butter, chocolate and banana smoothie, and some raw cake creation 🙂 If anything, a large helping of oven baked pasta with mixed peppers, mushrooms, onion and mature cheddar cheese sauce, followed by vanilla & caramel ice cream with homemade Bar One sauce on top.

2. Favorite flavor combination?
It’s a tie between peanut butter and banana (or peanutbutter and chocolate) , and apple and cinnamon

3. Favorite childhood place to visit?
-Tumble town and the movies!

4. Do you prefer sweet or savory foods?
Definitely sweet 🙂

5. If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?
Australia, France, The USA and Mauritius

6. Do you prefer a large house and small yard, or a small house and large yard?
Small houses are easier to clean, but so are small yards. So undecided.

7. Rainy days or bright and sunny days?
When working/studying – rainy days. When on holiday/resting – bright sunny days.

8. What is your happy music?
The top 40 countdowns on the radio on weekends – creates that ‘weekend atmosphere’. And 80’s pop (think along the lines of 99 Red Balloons, Wake Me Up Before You Go Go)

9. Which band or musician would you most want to see live (dead or living)?
Elvis or The Beatles maybe? (Just to see what they hype was about)

10. What is your creative outlet?
Writing

11. Sparkling water or still?

Definitely still! The bubbles in sparkling drinks make my throat feel funny.

My list of nominees:

My 11 questions for the nominees:

1. What did you always want to become “when you grew up”?
2. Exercise – a necessary evil or a pleasurable experience?
3. When did you first decide to take an interest in food and nutrtion?
4. Ocean or mountain holiday?
5. Road trips or flights?
6. Do you prefer saving space for a great dessert or having seconds of an exceptional main course?
7. What are your favourite snacks to eat when watching a film?
8. Are you more spontaneous, or do you prefer taking calculated risks?
9. Name the best restaurant you have ever visited.
10. Cold or hot beverages?
11. What is your favourite board game?

I hope you all have fun completing the process. Your blogs are beautiful and inspirational – please keep up the excellent work 🙂

NaPoWriMo Day 5

Today’s theme involves writing a valediction, or poem to do with the concept of saying “goodbye”.

We can write a serious or lighthearted poem, and there are no stylistic requirements. So I chose to write a poem about the good and bad side of parting ways with someone or something, whether it be the end of a stage in life, a relationship, or a journey. Perhaps one could apply it to situations such as moving away from an old place and starting over in a new town, city or country. It really does not matter what the nature of your ‘goodbye’ is, but the message remains the same – saying ‘goodbye’ will always hurt a bit, but in the long term it allows us to grow, gain new insights and find new inspiration.

Hope you enjoy this poem!

Liberation

The end.

So final. Succinct.

Anger flares, fear engulfs –

Resigned to our fate as victims of instinct.

Forced separation;

A product of free will.

Farewells are never easy,

And brewing storms within the heart –

Impossible to still.

Yet this is only the beginning,

With each ‘goodbye’ a chance to start anew.

A fresh perspective; liberation

From a narrowly defined worldview.

4 responses to “Liebster Award Nomination + NaPoWriMo Day 6

  1. Hi Cristal! I’m touched that you nominated me for the Liebster award. Thank you so much!! By the way, I enjoyed reading the answers to your questions. I definitely prefer sweet foods too;-)

    • It is a huge pleasure Celeste! Your blog is inspirational. Oh yes – sweet foods are so much more appealing. I always say that I could eat breakfast three times a day 🙂

    • It is a pleasure Stephanie! I am looking forward to reading your answers to the questions. I agree with you – it is an excellent tool for creating awareness of up and coming bloggers 🙂

Leave a Reply

