Exercise DVD’s + Playing Catch-Up: NaPoWriMo Day 11 & 12

This week has been an unusually busy one for me. I think it is because now that all the public holidays and mid-term university breaks are over society has realised that there is work to be done and that all those lazy, no good citizens need to be burdened with tight deadlines and extra tasks to suffer for enjoying their time off (well, perhaps that is a bit of an exaggeration, but it sure is a thought that’s been running through my mind!).

That being said, I missed posting my NaPoWriMo poem for Day 11 (yesterday) on time, so today you will be receiving two of my offerings.

Before I get to that though, I would just like to share my thoughts on a really great workout DVD I have been using for the past couple of weeks: Jillian Michaels’ Extreme Shed and Shred.

Jillian Michaels blog 1

I bought this DVD on impulse as a back-up to do on weekends if I don’t get to gym workouts during the week or have a running buddy (or the guts) to brave the cold for road runs with. And yes, I will admit, I secretly enjoy the variety and almost dance-like style of aerobics DVD’s – plus the embarrassment factor of looking like some deformed animal when attempting a new move during a group class is totally eliminated when working out in the comfort of your own home.

Jillian Michaels has a variety of DVD’s to choose from, but I had never done any of her workouts prior to this one. To say I underestimated her is putting it mildly. After my first full session (level 1 and 2 combined) I had given up all hope of ever completing this DVD on beginner level – never mind doing the advanced moves. However, not one to give up easily, I reluctantly tried it out again – and I am so glad I did! Every time you do it, it gets a bit easier, and I can honestly say that she delivers on her promises. My fitness has improved a great deal, I am more toned, and my core is probably at the strongest it has ever been. I think this has also helped equip me for running, because I ran a personal best of 19:42 minutes for my 4 km time trail yesterday evening. Bonus! 🙂

The DVD combines a variety of different exercise styles such as taebo/kickboxing, aerobics/cardio, plyometrics, and yoga to name a few. You can choose to start off with a 30 minute workout on level one, then build yourself up to level 2, or do level 1 and 2 together for a full 1 hour workout. The great thing about it is that you can also customise the moves to meet your needs – from beginner to advanced. So really, there is something for everyone.

If you cannot get outdoors for your workout, or don’t like exercising in a group format with many others, I would highly recommend the use of workout DVD’s such as this one. I get bored of doing the same thing over and over again, so perhaps owning a few different DVD’s is also a good idea!

What are your thoughts on workout DVD’s – love them or hate them?

NaPoWriMo Day 11 & 12

Our prompt for Day 11:

“And now, our prompt! Today I challenge you to write a tanka. This, like the “American” cinquain, is a poem based on syllables, with the pattern being 5-7-5-7-7. They work best when those final two 7-syllable lines contain a sort of turn or surprise that the first three lines might not wholly anticipate. You can string a bunch of them together to make a multi-stanza poem, or just write one!”

Now, I loosely followed the prompt, but combined it with an idea from Day 12’s prompt. Day 12 refers to the Charles Berstein website of poetry ‘experiments’. Basically the website lists a whole bunch of prompts or ideas for writing poems. It is a great site – please make the time to check it out!

I chose experiment 78: “Multilingual poem: write a poem using several languages that are integrated into the single poem.”

So here is my go at a multilingual (bilingual actually) tanka – short and sweet:

Culture

Ek’s trots Afrikaans

With a splash of English Rose.

Ja ek kan nou sokkie,

And at times I don’t fit in,

Maar ek voel vere – dis ek die!

Now, today’s (Day 12) prompt is as follows:

“And now, the prompt. (Again, the prompt is totally optional). Today’s offering comes to us from Charles Bernstein’s list of poetry experiments. In particular, today I challenge you to “write a poem consisting entirely of things you’d like to say, but never would, to a parent, lover, sibling, child, teacher, roommate, best friend, mayor, president, corporate CEO, etc.” Honesty is the best policy, after all, so get it off your chest! And if you’re interested in the complete list of experiments, you can find them all here.”

I decided to combine this with an adapted version of  experiment 54: “Write a series of ten poems going from one to ten words in each poem.  Reorder.”

So not really having the time to write TEN poems, I simply wrote on poem going from one to ten lines, then ten to one, creating an ‘arrow’ shape when typed.

Plus, incorporating the original prompt, this is something I would want to say to quite a few people, but never actually would. The poem is more about those times when you would like to say that you do not wish to say something (if that makes any sense). Well, here we go – enjoy!

Unspoken Words

I
Don’t want
To talk about
The things we both know
To be plain and obvious,
Yet drenched with many hidden meanings,
And feelings, such breeding ground for miscommunication.
Because the truth is, when all is said,
The only thing that remains is us, standing silently
With thoughts too numerous to utter, and lips firmly sealed.

So I swallow the key which leads to my mind,
And throw a deaf ear to clear social cues
To utter the words that should now flow
And ignite at the point where sound
Meets understanding and brings forth recognition
Of that which is conveyed –
Still open to interpretation,
The endless possibilities…
Yet not
Today.

 

2 responses to “Exercise DVD’s + Playing Catch-Up: NaPoWriMo Day 11 & 12

    • Thank you Vishal!

      I appreciate your feedback 🙂 I had to play a bit of catch-up this week so the post is longer than usual, but as long as it is interesting I will take that as a good sign!

Leave a Reply

