Pizza Perfect For Dinner (Vegan Style) + NaPoWriMo Day 15

A lot of the time people will ask me: ” So what do you eat when you have to get take-aways??” For many, the idea of a vegan lifestyle and fast-food are two wholly incompatible concepts. Pizza specifically is a fast food that seems to be completely out of the question – I mean there is the cheese factor, and then of course the ham, chicken, salami, bacon, feta, ribs…all no-go foods for the dedicated vegan.

Today my post serves to encourage you to explore alternatives when you are forced to get take-out. Pizza has always been one of my very favourite foods, so giving it up completely was out of the question. Now I know that there are many great (and much healthier) vegan pizza recipes that can be made in the comfort of your own home, but when you are out with friends and don’t want to drag them to ten different places to find something suitable on the menu, just customize! This is exactly what I did tonight – and honestly, vegan pizzas from the Pizza Perfect franchise are so darn tasty!

Yummy!!

Yummy!!

If you are considering going vegan or just curious to try healthier eating options every now and again, but cannot imagine giving up social events like pizza evenings with your friends or family, here are some handy hints for ordering a good vegan pizza:

  • Always scan the menu for the vegetarian options first (these are easier to customize and they are less likely to get your order wrong)
  • Starting with your chosen pizza as the base, substitute the mozzarella cheese for avocado (a healthy fat that fills you up and prevents the pizza from being too dry)
  • Make sure they still put the tomato base on.
  • Load your pizza with all the veggies on the menu – mixed peppers, mushrooms, olives, sun-dried tomato, spinach, rocket, peppadews – if they have it, add it!
  • Adding extras like garlic or chili (especially when eating at a restaurant where they serve these condiments on the side) is always a good idea!

And the golden rule: Never, never, never be afraid or shy to ask for substitutions! You have the right to, and most places are very accommodating 😉

NaPoWriMo Day 15

IMG_20130415_175329

Our NaPoWriMo challenge for today:

“And now our (again — totally optional) prompt! Today, I challenge you to write a pantun. Not a pantoum— though they are related. The pantun is a traditional Malay form, a style of which was later adapted into French and then English as the pantoum. A pantun consists of rhymed quatrains (abab), with 8-12 syllables per line. The first two lines of each quatrain aren’t meant to have a formal, logical link to the second two lines, although the two halves of each quatrain are supposed to have an imaginative or imagistic connection.”

I ended up writing this poem in my daily planner during my lunch break. It was an exceptionally lovely day today – not too hot nor too cold, and the clouds were stunning! The sky was bright blue, the trees and grass crisp green – I can hardly believe our luck, seeing as it is technically autumn! So, sitting outside on the steps of my university building eating my lunch, I admired this view and fell in love with nature. That is partly what my poem for today is based on (whilst still trying my best to follow the theme of course):

The canvas of blue and white stretches out
And casts welcoming shade on houses below.
I am so small, yet as I go about,
I am thought of, loved, tended to grow.

The midday sun triumphs, piercing the shade
And warms earth’s inhabitants, banishing fear.
Your embrace at once comes and then slowly fades,
Always seemingly far, yet never more near.

The soft breeze gently sweeps through my hair
And scatters loose particles all around.
Your presence, your messages, are everywhere,
Uttering nothing, still incredible your sound.

4 responses to “Pizza Perfect For Dinner (Vegan Style) + NaPoWriMo Day 15

  1. Wish I’d seen this earlier – I could’ve used these tips tonight! Eating with family and eating out has been the hardest part in making the vegan transition. Thanks for this post!

    • Aw, well better late than never I always say! At least you can use the info for future reference 😉 Another great option is Thai or Chinese food (eating a veggie stir fry with jasmine rice instead of the egg noodles for example). Perhaps I will do a post on more eating out tips soon (just have to find the time to go to restaurants) 😉 Glad this was helpful to you!

      • It definitely was helpful 🙂 Next time we eat out I also think I’ll look up the menu first. Going to a Thai restaurant is a great idea too!

Leave a Reply

